Industry News

PPA 30 Under 30 2020 Winners Announced

By Jess Browne-Swinburne

8 Sep 2020

The winners of PPA 30 Under 30, sponsored by PPA strategic partners Air Business, Pensord, Shutterstock Editorial and YM Group and PPA event partner PLS, have been announced, recognising the best and brightest upcoming talent in UK magazine media.

PPA received over 100 entries from rising stars in editorial, design, sales, marketing and events across business and consumer magazine media and 30 winners and a Student Journalist of the Year were chosen by a panel of judges made up of senior industry figures.

PPA Managing Director, Owen Meredith, commented: “We are delighted to announce this year’s PPA 30 under 30. With an exceptionally high standard of entries, these awards grow in stature every year, and recognise the very best young talent working in magazine and business media today. These 30 winners have demonstrated genuine raw talent that will serve them and our industry well over their careers.

“In these unprecedented times, it is inspiring to see the leaders of tomorrow who are helping rebuild our industry, with a passion that informs, empowers and delights their audiences.”

You can view the full Class of 2020 here.

PPA 30 Under 30 2020 winners:

Madeleine Barber - Special Projects Editor, Travel Trade Gazette, TTG Media

Nathaniel Barker - Deputy News Editor, Inside Housing, Ocean Media Group

Dusty Baxter-Wright - Senior Entertainment & Lifestyle Writer, Cosmopolitan UK, Hearst UK

Becky Burgum - Features Assistant, ELLE, Hearst UK

Esther Clark - Deputy Food Editor, BBC Good Food, Immediate Media

Jack Courtez - Editor, RN, Newtrade

Olivia de Courcy - Beauty Editor, Harrods Magazine, Harrods Publishing

Chris Dillon - Editor, Vape Retailer and The Retail Success Handbook, Newtrade

Gabriel Gottardo Da Silva - Art Editor, Hearst Content Agency

Rob Horgan - News Editor, New Civil Engineer, Metropolis/Emap

Edie Jeffreys - Video Producer, Hearst UK

Victoria Jowett - Beauty Director, Cosmopolitan UK, Hearst UK

Beth Kennedy - Editor, Chemist + Druggist, Informa

Esther Kezia Thorpe - Co-Host, Media Voices Podcast, Media Voices Ltd

Alyson Lowe – Audience Growth Manager, Vogue, The Condé Nast Publications

Emily Maitland - Account Manager, Dare Magazine, The River Group

Pui-Guan Man - News Editor, EG, Reed Business Information

James Manning - International Editor, Time Out, Time Out Group

Joe McDonnell - Head of Insight, WGSN

Liberty Mendez - Recipe Developer, BBC Good Food, Immediate Media

Tom Miller - Production Manager, George at ASDA, Hearst UK

Gabriella Minchella - Senior Fashion Assistant, Red Magazine, Good Housekeeping & Prima, Hearst UK

Constanza Pearce - Reporter, Pulse, Cogora

Olive Pometsey - Junior Digital Editor, GQ, The Condé Nast Publications

Helen Pye - Deputy Editor, Hitched, The Knot Worldwide

Matt Richardson - Picture Editor, British Airways & Mandarin Oriental, Cedar Communications

Sabrina Sahota - Digital Journalist, MadeForMums, Immediate Media

Rebecca Thair - Editor, Happiful Magazine, Happiful

Hiten Vara - Digital Marketing Executive, Immediate Media

Alice Wilkinson - Deputy Editor, Waitrose & Partners HEALTH Magazine, John Brown Media

Student Journalist of the Year

Annabel Nugent, Magazine Journalism MA, City, University of London

HIGHLY COMMENDED Joshua Stein, Investigative Journalism MA, City, University of London

HIGHLY COMMENDED Nur Adriana Zainal Abidin, Journalism Studies, The University of Sheffield